Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

KIT-Microalgae Platform

 

KIT-Microalgae Platform is a close collaboration of KIT Institutes, aiming at technology development for a sustainable production, recovery and utilization of microalgal biomass and products. The platform merges a broad portfolio of expertizes from various disciplines, ranging from Microbiology, Bioprocess Engineering, photo-bioreactor development, thermal biomass conversion to downstream process development on large scale and socio-ecomonic assessment and evaluation. The platform identifies new application- and market-oriented approaches for microalgae valorization and implements new concepts in joint projects.

Platform efforts targeting on energetic utilization of microalgae biomass are supported by the Helmholtz-Program „Renewable Energies“. Current R&D focus is laid on

  • improving economic and energetic efficiency of microalgae cultivation in closed systems, i.e. photo-bioreactors,
  • energy-efficient recovery and utilization of multiple fractions of microalgae biomass by pulsed electric field treatment,
  • identification and verification of alternative energetic valorization pathways of microalgae biomass and microalgae biomass fractions, e.g. by hydrothermal conversion and anaerobic digestion,
  • nutrient recycling ,
  • techno-economic assessment and evaluation of new processing routes.

 

 

The scientific emphasis of the Bioprocess Engineering Department of the Institute of Process Engineering in Life Sciences lays on the development of integrated and highly controllable bioprocesses. Technical methods primarily focus on fermentation, cultivation of photoautotrophic microorganism and novel harvesting and separation techniques for solid/liquid separation. Process optimization is supported by mathematical modelling, based on measured reaction kinetics data of extra- and intracellular components. R&D in photobiotechnology targets at process optimization for economic biomaterials production, at production, harvesting and purification of complex composite materials and at development of novel photobioreactors, maximizing light energy utilization for high microalgae cultivation efficiency.

The Bioelectrics Group at the Institute for Pulsed Power and Microwave Technology applies pulsed electric field (PEF) treatment for energy-efficient cascade processing of microalgae biomass. Besides basic research on membrane permeabilization mechanisms, the group targets on development of Pulsed Power devices for biomass treatment at industrial scale. In particular, R&D efforts concentrate on exploiting the fractionating properties of PEF-processing, allowing subsequent recovery of several product groups, i.e. nutrients, proteins and lipids. From the engineering point-of-view special emphasis is laid on large mass-flow processing, process integration and high pulsed-power component reliability and lifetime.

The research area Sustainability and Environment of the Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis investigates scientific and technological developments with a focus on their impacts and possible systemic and unintended effects. It produces analytical knowledge and assessments for sustainable development in order to provide research-based advice for ministries, authorities, and parliaments with an emphasis on parliamentary policy advice. ITAS has long lasting experience in sustainability assessment and Life Cycle Assessment and Life Cycle Costing and is involved in different projects on microalgae at the regional, national and European scale.

The department of Molecular Cell Biology of the Botanical Institute explores the molecular, cellular, and physiological responses of plants to stress, and also addresses the question, how a deeper understanding of these molecular and cellular mechanisms can improve the biotechnological exploitation of plant cells. The signaling pathways activated by electric pulses are analysed in the context of these stress responses. This leads to interesting questions for fundamental research, such as the role of the cytoskeleton for the perception of cell integrity. However, this knowledge is also important to generate hypothesis-driven applications to stimulate product synthesis and biomass accumulation in microalgae by targeted manipulation.

The working group of Platform Chemicals and Materials from Biomass at the Institute of Catalysis Research and Technology focuses on hydrothermal conversion methods of biomass, i.e. the conversion of biomass in presence of water under high pressure and temperature. This is of advantage for wet biomass, and therefore perfect for microalgae. The hydrothermal liquefaction of microalgae (HTL) yields about 60 wt% of biocrude under subcritical conditions.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

KIT-Plattform für Mikroalgentechnologie

 

Die KIT-Plattform für Mikroalgentechnologie ist der Zusammenschluss mehrerer Institute des KIT, die sich allgemein der Technologieentwicklung zur nachhaltigen Wertstoffproduktion mit Mikroalgen widmen. Ihre Stärke basiert auf den breiten Basiskompetenzen, die sich von biologischen Grundlagen über die Reaktionstechnik, die Photobioreaktorentwicklung, die Bioverfahrenstechnik, über thermische Konversionsprozesse bis hin zur pilotskaligen Prozessintegration, sowie der sozio-ökonomischen Folgenabschätzung für die Gesellschaft erstrecken. Neue Ansätze, Wege und Konzepte werden definiert und durch gemeinsame Projekte umgesetzt.,

 

Energetisch ausgerichtete Arbeiten werden vom Helmholtz-Programm „Erneuerbare Energien“ unterstützt. Unter Nutzung des Kompetenzportfolios der Plattform liegt hier der Fokus auf

  • der Steigerung der Wirtschaftlichkeit und Energieeffizienz der Mikroalgenkultivierung (Photobioreaktoren),
  • der energieeffizienten Gewinnung und Nutzung möglichst vieler Inhaltsstoff-Fraktionen durch Elektroimpulsbehandlung,
  • der Identifikation und Verifikation alternativer energetischer Verwer­tungspfade für Mikroalgenbiomasse und deren Teilfraktionen (Hydro­thermale Verfahren, Anaerobe Vergärung),
  • der Rückführung von Nährstoffen aus dem Downstream in die Kultivierung,
  • der techno-ökonomischen Bewer­tung neuer Verwertungspfade.

 

 

Die Kompetenzen der Bioverfahrenstechnik des Instituts für Bio- und Lebensmitteltechnik liegen in der Entwicklung von integrierten und exakt kontrollierbaren Bioprozessen. Aktuell im Fokus sind Fermentationsprozesse, die Kultivierung von photoautotrophen Mikroorganismen und neuartige Separationstechniken zur Fest/Flüssig-Trennung im Downstream-Bereich. Separationstechniken werden sukzessiv durch Messung extra- und intrazellulärer Komponenten und auf der Basis strukturiert-mathematischer Modellierungskonzepte optimiert. Speziell in der Photobiotechnologie liegen die Forschungsschwerpunkte auf der Prozessentwicklung für die marktgerechte Herstellung von Wertstoffen, der Produktion und Aufreinigung hochstrukturierter Bio-Komposit-Materialien und der Entwicklung neuartiger Photobioreaktoren mit maximaler Ausnutzung von Lichtenergie (z.B. Konzepte basierend auf transparenten Schwämmen) zur Mikroalgen Produktion.

Die Arbeitsgruppe Bioelektrik des Instituts für Hochleistungsimpuls- und Mikrowellentechnik (IHM) arbeitet an der Kaskadennutzung von Mikroalgenbiomasse mittels Elektroimpulsbehandlung und an der Weiterentwicklung der Hochleistungsimpulstechnik für den industriellen Einsatz in der Mikroalgenverarbeitung. Hauptarbeitsrichtung ist die Ausnutzung der fraktionierenden Eigenschaften der Elektroimpulsbehandlung, die aufeinanderfolgend eine Gewinnung von Nährstoffen, Proteinen und Lipiden energieeffizient ermöglicht. Die Verarbeitung großer Volumenströme, eine lange Komponentenlebensdauer und die Prozessintegration sind prioritäre Entwicklungsrandbedingungen.

Der Bereich Nachhaltigkeit und Umwelt des Instituts für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS) erarbeitet Wissen über die ökonomischen, ökologischen und sozialen Folgen der stofflichen und energetischen Nutzung von Mikroalgen und bewertet ihren Einsatz und die Anwendung neuer Technologien im Kontext der nachhaltigen Entwicklung. Die Ergebnisse werden Politik, Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und die Öffentlichkeit darin unterstützen, Entscheidungen zu Forschung, Entwicklung und Einsatz von Mikroalgensystemen auf der Basis des besten verfügbaren Wissens und rationaler Bewertungen zu treffen.

Die Molekulare Zellbiologie des Botanischen Instituts erforscht, wie Pflanzen sich molekular, zellulär und physiologisch an Stress anpassen, und wie die biotechnologische Nutzung von Pflanzenzellen durch ein tieferes Verständnis der molekularen und zellulären Mechanismen verbessert werden können. In Grundlagenuntersuchungen zu Mechanismen pflanzlicher Stressreaktionen werden unter anderem Signalwege untersucht die durch Elektroimpulsstimulation angeregt werden. Daraus ergeben sich einerseits interessante Fragestellungen für die Grundlagenforschung, wie zum Beispiel nach der Rolle des Cytoskeletts für die Wahrnehmung von Zellintegrität. Vor allem kann man aber auf der Basis dieses Wissens durch gezieltere Manipulation von Mikroalgen über hypothesengeleitete Anwendung die Produktbildung und die Biomasseproduktion steigern.

Die Arbeitsgruppe Plattformchemikalien und Materialien aus Biomasse des Instituts für Katalyseforschung und –technologie (IKFT) beschäftigt sich u.a. mit hydrothermalen Konversionsverfahren von Biomasse. Dabei handelt es sich um die Umwandlung von Biomasse in Gegenwart von Wasser bei hohem Druck und Temperatur und ist daher besonders für nasse Biomasse geeignet. Ein Schwerpunkt ist aus diesem Grund die hydrothermale Verflüssigung von Mikroalgen unter subkritischen Bedingungen, die Ausbeuten an Biocrude von rund 60 wt% bezogen auf die Trockenmasse ermöglicht.