Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Photoautotrophic Production of high value compounds

Photoautotrophic Production of high value compounds
Contact:

M.Sc. Biotechnol. Kira Schediwy

Startdate:

2016

Microalgal research is mostly focused on the development of bulk products such as food and feed. Low product prices and large scale production plants require the efficient usage of sunlight as the natural energy source and the production of microalgal biomass outdoors. In contrast, the energy efficiency is of lower importance in the act of generating high value products. The production scale of high value compounds is usually orders of magnitude smaller than the scale of bulk productions.

The cultivation of microalgae for the synthesis of high value products can be performed indoors under well-defined conditions. Thus, the same parameters can be applied in different locations. Indoor cultivations ensure a greater freedom of choice regarding light and temperature settings compared to climate-dependent cultivation outdoors.

In the KMU-innovativ-15 project, we use a photobioreactor especially designed for the indoor production of high value compounds. The biomass accumulation of the green microalga Chlorella vulgaris will be optimized in this reactor. Therefore, investigations of the effect of changes in light and temperature settings as well as nutrient concentrations on the algal metabolism will be performed separately first at small scale. The outcome will be incorporated into a cultivation procedure for optimal growth, which will be tested in the newly designed photobioreactor.

The accumulation of certain biomass constituents requires accumulation inducing conditions. The versatile metabolism of microalgae reacts to changes in light and temperature settings and nutrient availability.  High light conditions combined with low nutrient concentrations may lead to storage of carbon and energy storage compounds such as lipids or starch.

Figure 1: Microalgae cultured under various conditions

The main goal of this project is the optimization of the photoautotrophic production of isotopic labeled starch. Isotopic labeled substrates are used to label algal biomass. The isotopic labeled biomolecules can further be used for the synthesis of high value standards in metabolomics. Nutrient feeding strategies will be developed to optimize the accumulation of algal biomass with high starch content. Additionally, the metabolic effects caused by quantitative and qualitative changes in the light supply will be investigated. These approaches will be supported by metabolic modelling of microalgae cultivation and modelling of the light pattern using the Lattice Boltzmann method.

Abbildung 2: Cultivation of microalgae in novel algfine reactor

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Photoautotrophe Generierung von Hochwertprodukten

Photoautotrophe Generierung von Hochwertprodukten
Ansprechpartner:

M.Sc. Biotechnol. Kira Schediwy

Starttermin:

2016

Die Forschung im Bereich der Mikroalgen konzentriert sich in vielen Projekten auf die Entwicklung großindustrieller Produkte, z.B. in der Nahrungs- und Futtermittelindustrie. Aufgrund der relativ geringen Produktpreise und des großen Produktionsmaßstabs sind dabei die Nutzung von Sonnenlicht als natürliche Energiequelle und die Kultivierung im Freien unabdingbar. Im Gegensatz dazu spielt bei der Generierung von Hochwertprodukten die Energieeffizienz eine untergeordnete Rolle und der Produktionsmaßstab ist um Größenordnungen kleiner.

Die Kultivierungen von Mikroalgen zur Gewinnung von Hochwertprodukten können somit im Labor unter streng definierten Bedingungen durchgeführt werden und sind übertragbar zwischen verschiedenen Standorten. Zudem umfassen die Möglichkeiten im Indoor-Bereich wesentlich mehr Freiheitsgrade vor allem in Bezug auf die Lichtbedingungen und die Temperatur als die klimatischen Verhältnisse im Outdoor-Bereich.

Innerhalb des Projekts KMU-innovativ-15 wird ein neuartiger Photobioreaktor verwendet. Das Wachstum der Grünalge Chlorella vulgaris soll in diesem Photobioreaktor optimiert werden. Dafür werden zunächst die Licht- und Temperaturbedingungen sowie die Nährstoffkonzentrationen voneinander entkoppelt in kleinerem Maßstab variiert und die physiologischen Effekte untersucht. Mithilfe dieser Ergebnisse soll eine optimale Wachstumsstrategie entwickelt und anschließend in dem Photobioreaktor getestet werden.

Die Generierung bestimmter Biomassekonstituenten erfordert Kultivierungsparameter, die deren Produktion induzieren. Der Metabolismus von Algen reagiert beispielsweise auf Änderungen der Lichtbedingungen, der Temperatur oder der Nährstoffversorgung. Hohe Lichtintensitäten können vor allem in Kombination mit geringen Nährstoffkonzentrationen zur Akkumulation von Speicherstoffen wie Lipiden oder Stärke führen.

Abbildung 1: Algenkulturen im Schüttelkolben unter versch. Bedingungen Kultiviert

Vordergründiges Ziel dieses Projekts ist die Optimierung des photoautotrophen Bioprozesses zur Produktion isotopenmarkierter Stärke. Durch die Verwendung isotopenmarkierter Substrate, ist auch die synthetisierte Algenbiomasse isotopenmarkiert. Die Bioprodukte in der Algenbiomasse können dann für die Herstellung hochwertiger Standards im Rahmen von Metabolomanalysen genutzt werden. Für die Akkumulation von Biomasse und Stärke soll die Entwicklung verschiedener Fütterungsstrategien von Nährstoffen erfolgen. Zusätzlich sollen Analysen der metabolischen Effekte auf den qualitativ und quantitativ variierten Lichteintrag durchgeführt werden. Die Versuchsplanung und Auswertung wird zum Teil durch die Simulation von Kultivierungen (metabolische Modelle) und die Simulation von Lichtverteilungen (Lattice-Boltzmann-Verfahren) unterstützt.

Abbildung 2: Algenkultivierung im neuartigen Algfine Reaktor