Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT
Institute of Process Engineering in Life Sciences

III -  Bioprocess Engineering

 

Building 30.44

Fritz-Haber-Weg 2

76131 Karlsruhe 

Outdoor-Photobioreactors, SBRC Australia

Outdoor-Photobioreactors, SBRC Australia
Contact:

links:
Partner:

see below

Solar Biofuels Research Centre (SBRC) – Research platform for algae bioreactors in Australia

The growing demand of petrochemical raw materials has an increasing effect on the global climate and economy so that industry and research has to develop novel solutions. Microalgae with their photosynthetic efficiency and their ability for carbon dioxide fixation are interested as a climate neutral energy source. Besides they are regarded as a supplier of several organic high value products, e.g. pigments or fatty acids. Although several industrial applications for microalgae products are established, the commercial exploitation for biofuels and low value products are still delayed by the energy balance and process costs.
In an international and interdisciplinary consortium of academic and industrial partners the Solar Biofuels Research Centre (SBRC, www.solarbiofuels.org/sbrc/) was established to improve the potential of the photobiotechnology. Microalgae simultaneously are cultivated in open and closed reactor systems, like open ponds, flat-panels and tubular bioreactors, as well as our own reactors designs. This concept of a parallel operation allows for direct comparison of the different designs under same outdoor conditions. The pilot plant provides furthermore elaborate on-line and off-line analytics to benchmark the reactors with focus on productivity, kinetics and ecological efficiency. Important aspects of our work include the optimization of light distribution and productivity as well as the minimization of energy input, e.g. for cooling or pumping. In addition, the location Brisbane with its sun rich and subtropical climate and the plant structure creates conditions that are close to industrial production facilities. Moreover, newly screened local microalgae strains with more tolerant properties, e.g. of high temperature and sun irradiation, are tested to increase the product yields and to make the process more economical. The collected data and experience of the direct comparison of the design and process parameters contribute to process control optimization and development of optimized bioreactor designs.
In summary, the main target is the development of sustainable high efficiency microalgae production systems for fuel, food and high value products. Thereby the support of new potential partners is always welcome to improve the possibilities and efficiency of this singular project.

              

Project partner

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT
Institut für Bio- und Lebensmitteltechnik

Bereich III Bioverfahrenstechnik

 

Gebäude 30.44

Fritz-Haber-Weg 2

76131 Karlsruhe

Outdoor-Photobioreaktoren, SBRC Australien

Outdoor-Photobioreaktoren, SBRC Australien
Ansprechpartner:

Links:
Partner:

s.u.

Solar Biofuels Research Centre (SBRC) – Research Plattform für Algenbioreaktoren in Australien


Der aktuelle Bedarf an petrochemischen Rohstoffen hat einen negativen Effekt auf das globale Klima und die Ökonomie, sodass Industrie und Wissenschaft neue Wege beschreiten müssen. Mikroalgen mit Ihrer fotosynthetischen Effizienz und ihrer Fähigkeit der Kohlenstoffdioxidfixierung stehen dabei im Fokus als eine klimaneutrale Energiequelle. Außerdem können Mikroalgen als Zulieferer für organische high value Produkte, wie Pigmente oder Fettsäuren, dienen. Obwohl mehrere industrielle Anwendungen für Mikroalgen Produkte etabliert sind, ist der kommerzielle Einsatz für Biokraftstoffe und low value Produkte immer noch durch die Energiebalance und den hohen Prozesskosten gering.
Um das Potential der Photobiotechnologie zu verbessern wurde das Solar Biofuels Research Centre (SBRC, www.solarbiofuels.org/sbrc/) gegründet, das aus einem internationalen und interdisziplinären Konsortium aus akademischen und industriellen Partnern besteht. Mikroalgen können auf dieser Pilotanlage simultan in offenen und geschlossenen Reaktoren, wie Open Ponds, Flat-Panels, tubulären als auch eigenentwickelte Reaktoren, kultiviert werden. Dieses Konzept eines parallelen Betriebes erlaubt einen direkten Vergleich der unterschiedlichen Reaktor-Designs unter gleichen Outdoor-Bedingungen. Weiterhin bietet die Pilotanlage diverse on-line und off-line Analytiken um die Bioreaktoren in Bezug auf Produktivität, Kinetiken und ihrer ökologischer Effizienz zu bewerten. Wichtige Aspekte dieses Projektes beinhalten außerdem die Optimierung der Lichtverteilung, der Produktivitäten als auch die Minimierung der Energieeinträge, wie Temperieren oder Durchmischen. Dabei liefert der Standort Brisbane mit seinem sonnenreichen und subtropischen Klima Bedingungen, die nahe an den industriellen Produktionsprozessen liegen. Außerdem sollen durch neu selektierte Stämme die Produktausbeuten gesteigert und die Prozesse ökonomischer gestaltet werden. Die Ergebnisse und Erfahrungen aus dem direkten Vergleich der Reaktoren und Parametern tragen dazu bei die Prozessführung zu optimieren und die Reaktordesigns zu verbessern.
Das Hauptziel ist somit die Entwicklung nachhaltiger, effizienter Mikroalgenproduktionsverfahren für Kraftstoffe, Nahrungsmittel und high value Produkte. Die Kooperation mit neuen potentiellen Partnern steigert dabei die Möglichkeiten und die Effizienz dieses einzigartigen Projektes.

                

Projektpartner